Royal New Zealand Navy Frigate HMNZS Te Mana Arrives in Sydney Harbour

The Royal New Zealand Navy (RNZN) Anzac-class frigate, HMNZS Te Mana (F111) has entered the Sydney Harbour in Australia, on Feb. 12.

The ship will be in Australian waters for the next six weeks conducting a series of performance drills and exercises with the Royal Australian Navy (RAN).

According to a statement from RNZN, the training is conducted to ensure the ship and ship’s company are well honed for the year’s duties.

HMNZS Te Mana (F111)

HMNZS Te Mana (F111) is the second Anzac-class frigate serving in the Royal New Zealand Navy (RNZN) fleet

The name Te Mana is Māori, approximately translating as ‘status’ or ‘authority’. The ship was laid down under the joint Anzac project by Tenix Defence Systems at Williamstown, Victoria in 1996, launched in 1997, and commissioned into the RNZN in 1999 as the Royal New Zealend Navy Flagship.

Anzac class (also identified as the ANZAC class and the MEKO 200 ANZ type) is a ship class of ten frigates; eight operated by the Royal Australian Navy (RAN) and two operated by the Royal New Zealand Navy (RNZN).

The Anzacs are based on Blohm + Voss’ MEKO 200 PN (or Vasco da Gama class) frigates, modified to meet Australian and New Zealand specifications and maximise the use of locally built equipment.

Each frigate has an overall length of 118 metres, a beam of 14.8 metres, a full load draught of 4.35 metres and a full load displacement of 3,600-tonnes.

The ships are fitted with a Combined Diesel or Gas (CODOG) propulsion machinery layout, consisting of two controllable-pitch propellers driven by a single General Electric LM2500-30 gas turbine and two MTU diesel engines: initially the TB83 model, but these were replaced in 2010 with more powerful TB93s.

The vessels have a maximum speed is 27 knots and maximum range is over 6,000 nautical miles at 18 knots; about 50% greater than other MEKO 200 designs.

As designed, the main armament for the frigate is a 5-inch 54 calibre Mark 45 gun, supplemented by an eight-cell Mark 41 vertical launch system for RIM-7 Sea Sparrow, two 12.7-millimetre (0.50 in) machine guns, and two Mark 32 triple torpedo tube sets firing Mark 46 torpedoes.

They were also designed for but not with a close-in weapons system (a Phalanx CIWS installed shortly after the frigate’s completion, supplemented by two Mini Typhoons from 2006 onwards).

The standard ship’s company of an Anzac consists of 22 officers and 141 sailors. The New Zealand Anzacs initially operated with a Westland Wasp helicopter, which were later replaced by Kaman SH-2 Seasprites, then Kaman SH-2G Super Seasprite helicopters.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.