U.S. Coast Guard RDC Inks Partnership With Air Force Research Laboratory

Commanding officers from the U.S. Coast Guard Research and Development Center (CG RDC) and the U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) signed a joint memorandum of understanding (MOU) at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base on April 12, 2018.

The MOU allows greater opportunity for RDC and AFRL to work together on projects of mutual benefit. Several RDC efforts stand to profit from this partnership, including 3-D printing, Arctic operations, modeling and simulation, cyber research, and satellite technology to include CubeSats.

Capt. Greg Rothrock, commanding officer of the RDC, and Maj. Gen. William Cooley, commander of AFRL, signed the document in a ceremony hosted at AFRL headquarters.

“RDC is very excited about this new affiliation with AFRL,” Rothrock said. “Establishing an MOU is just the start of what we see as a long-term relationship to collaborate where we can on common research that benefits both the Coast Guard and Air Force.”


U.S. Coast Guard Research and Development Center (CG RDC)

The Research and Development Center (RDC), located in New London, Conn. is the Coast Guard’s sole facility performing research, development, and test and evaluation in support of the service’s major missions.

The RDC is responsible for evaluating the feasibility and affordability of mission execution solutions and providing operational and risk-management analysis at all stages of the acquisition process.

Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL)

The Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) is a scientific research organization operated by the United States Air Force Materiel Command (AFMC) dedicated to leading the discovery, development, and integration of affordable aerospace warfighting technologies, planning and executing the Air Force science and technology program, and provide warfighting capabilities to United States air, space, and cyberspace forces.

The Laboratory was formed at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio on 31 October 1997 as a consolidation of four Air Force laboratory facilities (Wright, Phillips, Rome, and Armstrong) and the Air Force Office of Scientific Research under a unified command.

The Laboratory is composed of seven technical directorates, one wing, and the Office of Scientific Research. Each technical directorate emphasizes a particular area of research within the AFRL mission which it specializes in performing experiments in conjunction with universities and contractors.

%d bloggers like this: